Creek Access and Easements [SE MN]

General trout, fishing, conservation, or anything outdoors related discussion. Trip reports and stream conditions welcome, but please do not name streams.
POLITICAL FREE ZONE
hunn360

Creek Access and Easements [SE MN]

Post by hunn360 »

Hello MN Trout Forum,

I am pretty new to trout fishing, only ever caught small brook trout out of a pond/stream with nightcrawlers but looking to find some trout in streams this spring/summer. Right now I use a spinning setup with 1/16 oz and 1/8 oz rooster tails and spinners.

Looking to get down to SE Minnesota but I have never fished this area before, nor have I fished on an easement. From what I understand the land is still private property in these locations except for fishing purposes within like 100' of the creek's center. Am I able to just pull over on the road and put on my waders and walk up the stream a bit in these areas?

I am not against hard to reach places (probably prefer them) so if anyone has suggestions of where some good easement areas are (I've been looking at Trout Run, and Pickwick) I'd appreciate any information.

Thanks

jrs

Re: Creek Access and Easements [SE MN]

Post by jrs »

I think the MN DNR has done a wonderful job of securing angling easements on our streams.

Generally, you can enter an eased stream at a public bridge. It's basically a corridor, generally 50' either side of the center of the stream, that you can use to access the stream for fishing (other activities are not allowed). Easements are generally marked with small rectangular tan signs. You'll also see stiles if there is fence.

The main points to keep in mind: park safely and out of the way (eg, don't block field access), stay in the stream corridor and don't cut across land, and leave the dog at home.

We also have a fair amount of public land -- state parks, WMAs, state forests -- that is also accessible for fishing.